HELP83 £3 to 70070

As you can imagine, with only 2 weeks until we head out to Ecuador for the final challenge of the Help for Heroes [21:21]  Challenge project, I’m getting incredibly excited.

High up in the Andes we’ll be scaling 5 volcanoes in total, culmintaing at the top of the 5,987m beast that is Cotopaxi – higher than Kilimanjaro & harder than Everest Base Camp, this will be the perfect feat to end nearly 2 years of exciting, inspiring & gruelling challenges.

But let’s not forget the purpose of pushing myself to the edge of what I thought was possible. After being inspired by my brother heading out to the front line in Afghnaistan, and wanting to do my bit and make a difference, I’ve been busy fundraising for the one and only HELP for HEROES.

As a final act of crazy before I go to Ecuador, I’m making a pledge. If we can raise more than £100 via text donations in the next 2 weeks, I am going to shave my head in readiness for the extremely cold temperatures of Andean Ecuador. I appreciate it’s maybe not the best time to undertake such a pledge, but if I can top up the total, just a little bit more, than it will be worth it. Plus with both my brother & Dad having less than a full head of hair, I’m starting to feel left out.

So, here’s the deal. If you text HELP 83 with the amount you want to donate (£1, £3, £5) to 70070 and we raise over £100 in the next fortnight, I’ll bare all (so to speak). Please know that whilst I’ve had short hair in the past, I’ve never gone Army style and lost the lot. And given the fact that I’ve had my fair share of head injuries in the past, god only knows what the state of my head will be like underneath. But it’s a risk I’m willing to take.

My sister-in-law has a great attitude towards this:

Think of it like you’re buying one of our troops a pint. They’ve given their all for their country, some of them the ultimate sacrafice. And it’s only 3 quid. You won’t even notice it’s gone, but together it can make a real difference.

Even £1 can make the difference – in fact, if everyone who followed me on Twitter texted just £1, then we’d smash this target in no time.

Whatever you can give, your help will be greatly appreciated. Not only by me & my brother, but the injured lads who rely on our support.

THANKS.  

.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HELP83 £3 to 70070

  1. Jon Lambert says:

    If you raise the £100 + , I’ll join you, and shave mine and keep it shaved until november the , just so you dont feel lonely. Dad

  2. Jon Lambert says:

    Thats November the first

Leave a comment