1998.5 miles to go

Firstly, Happy New Year to you all. A HUGE welcome to 2012. The best year yet!

I still can’t quite believe how quickly 2011 shot by, and even more so can’t believe that it was a year ago today, that I was taking the plunge into the North Sea to mark the start of the Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge. I hope you all had a great evening looking back over 2011 and looking forward to 2012.

I brought in the New Year with some great friends and true supporters of the project. I still find it hard to find words to describe Sarah & John; they’re truly brilliant people. The merriment of the evening attracted some other pretty special people too – Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn, the Blues Brother and even Barack Obama showed up, with the Statue of Liberty alongside.

As the clock struck midnight and the fireworks in London started, I felt this great wave of excitement flow over me. In a flash I remembered all the amazing things that had happened last year, along with all the sad times as well – but there was one thing I felt, something which I’m sure so many of you will agree with. I felt really excited to be British. I mean, I know we’ve had our ups and downs across the years, but they don’t call Britain Great for no reason. And with the Olympics just around the corner, this year is going to be damn special for us all.

So at the start of 2012, I felt it only appropriate to start as I mean to go on, and with 2012 miles to get covered this year, I wanted to start strong. After nursing a food hangover (no drink last night, but a LOT of food consumed), I thought why not crack out a cheeky half marathon around the water park……in the rain. Note to self – make sure you get more than 4 hours sleep before running 13+ miles. Pretty tired, legs a bit sore, blister on my right foot the size of Yorkshire, but very happy. To think that a year ago I’d only ever completed one 10k race, to run more than double that for fun is something I’m pretty proud of.

I’m so looking forward to the next 365 days – bring it on 2012 !!

.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1998.5 miles to go

  1. john says:

    Brilliant start to the year Ben. good luck with the other miles

  2. Keep the inspiration coming!

Leave a Reply

