Challenge yourself: 2012 miles in 2012

This year I’ve seen myself undertake challenges that I never thought possible. And while this has not only changed me physically (my legs are looking pretty good FYI), it has also changed my mind set, and my outlook on life. Nothing is impossible.

I’ve had lots of messages of support along the journey so far, with people saying “wow, I don’t know how you do it”. You know what though, it’s not been easy along the way – especially as I’m just an ordinary guy; I’m not an athlete, nor a soldier, and I’ve never been that sporty until 2011. Polar explorer, Ingle Solheim, talked about his challenge to reach the North Pole with Walking with the Wounded, and that the challenge was made up of:

80% physical and 40% mental – because 100% just wasn’t enough”.

Now I don’t know if I can place those ratios on every challenge I’ve done this year, but mental ability has been a huge factor. I’ve drawn my motivation and determination from many different places and people, but it’s all worked to help me achieve my goals.

So at the eve of a New Year, I’m asking you whether or not you want to challenge yourself, to make 2012 your best year yet, pushing yourself harder & higher than ever before. Are you willing to join me?

On top of the planned challenges for [21:21], I’m pledging to cover 2012 miles in 2012. Do you fancy it? Be it running, cycling, rowing, swimming or hiking, however you cover it, why not join me to clock the distance and make next year one to remember. And with the Olympics being hosted in the UK for the first time in many of our lifetimes, I think this would be a very apt way to show our support.

With the mileometer starting first thing on Sunday morning,  let’s set the alarm early and get out there to smash 2012 miles in 2012!

.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenge yourself: 2012 miles in 2012

  1. jon Lambert says:

    Aye, are you ever going to stop adding to 21/21 , at this rate your challenges will go on until 3021.
    Keep up the good work(you nutter)
    I’ll be doing my bit , just I’ll be doing it in my car (to old now ) LOL
    All the best for 2012

  2. Vicki Hewitt says:

    I am definitely in for the 2012 miles challenge! Didn’t realise I could do it any way and not just running! So I am in! Not sure how I will track my spinning lessons, but will give it a go! Yes!! Bring it on!
    Besazos, xxx

  3. Great challenge idea! That’s 38.69 miles a week. I decided to do 100 different hikes in a year. Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

