ABa knock it out of the park!

While some of you might find it hard to believe, I do in fact have a day job outside the many perils of completing 21 challenges in 21 months – although, having a day job does mean that  training is reduced to 6am running with head torches down the Mersey, or working on fundraising plans at gone midnight. However, I have to say that ABa (where I work), has knocked it out of the park just in time for Christmas!

I was in the office on Monday when I got an e-mail from my boss saying that she had something “exciting and surprising to tell me”, but that she couldn’t tell me until Tuesday, and I shouldn’t even bother to badger her beforehand. Tuesday arrived, and she continued to be equally illusive. Then around 3 o’clock that afternoon, we got an e-mail from the IT Manager informing us all of the company e-card that was being sent to our clients this year for Christmas. As I read the card my eyes glanced to the bottom of the card, and I couldn’t believe what I was reading – so much so that I must have read it a fair few times. Here is what people from Post Office, Sainsbury’s, John Lewis & HSBC, amongst others, have received:

_______________________________________________________________

 

Happy Chanyulemas from all the team at ABa Quality Monitoring

 2011 has been another great year for ABa, and the year we finally came of age. So, at the grand old age of 21, we would like to thank you for your continued support in 2011. It really has been a pleasure working with you. Here’s wishing you a Happy Chanyulemas and a prosperous new year.

Warm regards from Kate, Conrad, Mary and the whole ABa team

In our 21st year we are very pleased to donate to the 21:21 challenge project, raising money for Help for Heroes. The 21:21 challenge is being undertaken by Benjamin Lambert (a member of the ABa Head Office team) www.2121challenge.co.uk

_______________________________________________________________

 All of this was very exciting for a Tuesday afternoon, however, the real excitement came when Kate (the MD of our company) came over to quickly mention “we’ve meant to sponsor you for some time, but thought it better to do it all together rather than in clumps. And given the recent celebrations for our 21st birthday party, I thought now would be a good time. We’ll chat more later when you can formulate a sentence properly, but we’re going to sponsor you £100 per challenge”.

Oh my friggin’ god! £100 a challenge?! My mathematical head went into overdrive. I couldn’t quite believe the total I was coming up with. So much so, that I actually typed into my calculator £100 x 21. Yep, that’s what I thought. Kate had just confirmed that ABa were becoming the mother of all corporate sponsors, and so very generously sponsoring me £2,100.

With a Christmas marathon, shoebox appeal to the lads in Afghan, and the Military Awards, my thoughts have very much been focused on all things Armed Forces for the past few weeks. And to get such an amazing boost to the [21:21] target of £10,000, I am over the moon. So it goes without saying, an extremely huge THANK YOU to Kate, Conrad & Mary for such an amazing gesture. Not including having Nick back home for Christmas, this is one of the best Christmas gifts that we could get this year.

I’m going to be updating the site before the end of the year to include a new Corporate Sponsor section, with a few exciting additions coming in the New Year (watch this space). The only thing that worries me now…..with all this sponsorship coming in, I’m going to really have to train my arse off over the coming months!

.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

