MERRY CHRISTMAS

First and foremost, I want to wish everyone a very merry Christmas. I hope that wherever you’re spending the festive period, you’re spending it with loved ones.

In a similar vein to last year, instead of buying cards, I’ve created this lovely Christmas ensemble above and emptied the piggy bank to give a donation to Help for Heroes.

Every year I use Christmas as a time to reflect over the previous year, before planning for the year ahead. For me the last 12 months have been truly amazing and cram packed with challenges galore – both physical & mental. The obvious ones coming in the form of climbing mountains, swimming & cycling mega-distances and running too many races to mention. The less so obvious, having my brother deployed to the front line in Afghanistan.

While the next 12 months promise to be even more exciting & challenging, I’ll be savouring every minute of Christmas with my brother & the rest of the family. However, while we’re all back home, there will be countless servicemen & women who will be spending their Christmas day away from their families in Afghanistan or other places around the world. While I will be thinking of those away from their families, this year has taught me how tough it can be for the people left behind as well. For the wives, the mums, the dads, the brothers and the kids.

So this year, I dedicate Christmas to all the Military Families. For those who are lucky enough to share it together, and those far apart. I also dedicate Christmas to all the families of those who were sadly not so lucky to come home; those that gave their life for their country. Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori.

So wherever you’re spending Christmas this year, I hope that you have a fantastic time and enjoy the festive break, and I look forward to seeing a rejuvenated you, ready for a whole host of challenges to smash, in 2012.

Lots of love.

Ben x

 

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

