Change is a good thing

I’ve always been the kind of person that doesn’t shy away from change. While sometimes it comes along and really messes up our plans, more often than not it’s the shakeup that we need.

As I’ve previously mentioned, the most recent injury wasn’t quite as traumatic as the first one in terms of psychological turmoil. It has however, driven me crazy not being able to run for so bloody long. While I wasn’t impressed with not being able to complete Hell Runner, it wasn’t the end of the world. It simply meant that I needed to get round the obstacle of not completing a challenge. Luckily with a 21 month challenge project, I had the luxury to be smart with my planning, and switch a few things around.

So that’s what I did.

After some extensive chatting with my physio, she convinced me that I needed to take it easier over the months following the injury, to make sure that 1) I didn’t do any more damage to my leg, but also that 2) I didn’t cause a new problem elsewhere.

So October and November has become a combined challenge. I’ve given myself 60 days to cycle the length of Lands End to John O’Groats (874 miles) and swim from England to France (24 miles, or 1400 lengths). As before, these will both be completed in the gym / pool, as I unfortunately have to work to pay for general living & the entry fees to all of these challenges.

December will take the marathon I should have done in Chester and add a sprinkle of PR to the proceedings. I’m going to run 26.2 miles on a treadmill, but rather than just run this in the gym, I’ll be completing it in a prominent place in Manchester. Details have still to be confirmed, but it’s going to in public, hopefully with lots of generous Christmas shoppers to donate a bob or two.

January is still the Dubai marathon – flights are now booked, so there’s no turning back. 26.2 miles in 26.2 degree heat is going to be the strap line for that challenge.

February will see me meet my arch nemesis Hell Runner once more. This time I’m going to be much more prepared for it, and will come out the other end a broken, but triumphant man. Also two guys from work have agreed to not only enter the race with me, but do it as part of the 21:21 challenge, meaning a nice little boost to the fund. Big up to Luke & Phil!

April onwards, I’m relatively back on track. However, I’m now more mentally & physically prepared for the potential of change. And hey, if we didn’t have change in our lives, things would get pretty boring no?

 

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

