The furthest I’ve ever run…..EVER!

Casting my mind back to this time last year, I would have found it difficult to believe that I’d have been completing half marathons in the Spring of 2011, as part of a 21 challenge adventure. Needless to say, the prospect of running 20 miles purely for training is something even less imaginable. However, last Sunday I set off for a quick jaunt round town, with a number of other crazed individuals (lets refer to them as the Chorlton Runners), and came back 20 miles later.

The North West & Edinburgh half marathons had given me my longest distance ever ran earlier in the year, hitting a challenging 13.1 miles, however, last week’s training hit a cool 20 miles, which is the furthest I’ve ever run in one go, ever! In fact it was a furthest ever run for number of us. Now the run itself was not without drama – we experienced two injured runners, saw a guy who’d collapsed on the street & got soaked in Sale (not to mention the incredible chaffing I’d achieved).

Drama aside, I was really proud of our effort, determination & achievement, and want to say a big THANK YOU to the Chorlton Runners. You have really helped me develop my running, both in terms of skill, speed & distance – I’ve still got a long way to go, but so far so good. And I also have to thank Kate Doyle (my fantastic new running buddy), as she is the badger who introduced me to the group in the first place, and has subsequently been dragging me out of bed at 6am for 4 mile Water Park circuits, 6 mile river & hill runs and 8 mile fartlek sessions.

So big up to the runners, big up to Kate, and you know what, big up to me. If I can crack 20 miles, I only need to bump it up by 6 and I’ll have my marathon……oh god!

 

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

