Good enough for Freddie Flintoff = Good enough for me

I’ve always been really pro the NHS (especially after they looked after me so well that time I was in a coma), and to be fair I’m still very much for a free health service. But (and it’s a big but), how exciting is private healthcare!? I’ve been covered with Bupa through work for the past year or so and never thought twice about it, until now.

I called them up the other day, and spoke to the nicest woman, who was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and really made me feel good about calling them (I think a lot of retailers could learn a lesson from them – enough about work). Anyway, I was soon sorted with a pre-authorisation number, which turns out is all I needed to get myself booked in for physio. Now anyone that knows me, knows that I don’t do things by half. So why go to any normal physio, when you can go to the same physio that used to treat Freddie Flintoff at Old Trafford cricket ground – go Davie Roberts!!

Waiting for physio on the NHS was going to take me 4-6 weeks. When I called Mr Roberts (well his receptionist) first thing Monday morning, the conversation went something like this:

Me:        “Hi, I need to book an appointment for some physio please”

Dave:    “Certainly, where do you need looking at?”

Me:        “My ankle…[gave details]”

Dave:    “OK, let me look…..how about 10:30”

Me:        “Erm yeah, on what day?”

Dave:    “[With surprised tone] well today of course”

Bloody hell, I only called at 09:00 and they could get me in 90 minutes later. I’m so much in love with Bupa right now.

I won’t go into finite details about the session because 1) I’m sure it’s not that interesting and 2) I’m ridiculously tired. All I have to say is – wow. Oh my god. Wow. The man is a friggin genius. He did things to my foot and ankle that caused serious pain, but great relief at the same time. There were clicks, prods, pokes and twists. But after the session, for the first time in nearly 2 weeks, I was able to put weight on my left foot, and when I got home I was walking with just one crutch.

I know to most this doesn’t sound that exciting, but after the last 10 days of feeling shit both physically & mentally, it was a great relief. Not being able to run has been pissing me off massively, but not being able to walk, and it taking so long to heal has been driving me crazy. I genuinely feel elated. To be fair, I think my housemates will be quite pleased as well.

I’m booked back in for more physio on Monday (he could have done before but I’m going to London), so I’m feeling very positive about getting back into action in the not too distant future. My homework for the next 3 or 4 days is to be able to walk properly with one crutch, not just hobble, and also drive to the appointment.

Looking forward to getting back on track, getting back to training and getting the money rolling in.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good enough for Freddie Flintoff = Good enough for me

  1. christine lambert says:

    Well done Ben, keep up the good work, do you think he could
    work on me next! xxx

Leave a Reply

