Nothing’s right, I’m torn

Never one to be melodramatic, but it’s true. I am torn. I went to the doctor yesterday, as I was starting to get slightly concerned about my foot. Various people were surprised that I’d not yet started walking without crutches and that the swelling was still prevalent. After a rather lengthy wait at the walk in centre, I was seen by a very friendly doctor called Rachel. I could tell straight away from looking at her face that my foot wasn’t your typical sprain story. After she ruled out a break (although she did say that sometimes they can miss minor breaks on x-rays – way to fill me with confidence NHS), she said that rather than the usual pulling of the ligament, I’d full on ripped it. OK she used the word ‘torn’, but ripped just seems more appropriate, considering the pain I was in.

Still trying to maintain a certain level of positivity, all I could muster up to say was “great, so no half marathon in 3 weeks then?” It looks like driving will be out of the question for the next week, along with no crutch-free walking until next weekend. I know it’s stupid, and futile to even think I’d be in a position to run 13 odd miles in less than 21 days time, but I’m one of those glass half full kind of people. I know better than anyone it’s not going to happen, but I’m not one to give up easily. As and when the inevitable materialises, I’ll have a great training schedule planned for March, and a fun-filled April planned – how many half marathons can a guy do in one month!?

So while I’m not cold, shamed, nor am I lying naked on the floor…..I am definitely torn. And who better than to express said feelings, than Natalie Imbruglia.

You have to love those Ozzies, pulling one out of the bag for you in times of need.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nothing’s right, I’m torn

  1. Adam says:

    That sucks. Hope it improves soon. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

