The Road to Recovery

There are no two ways about it – the road to recovery is seriously dull. It’s only been 3 days since I did my ankle in, but I’m already itching to get back out running. I was gutted last night when I had to stay in instead of going to BMF. I know that I have little choice in the matter, especially if I want some form of functioning ankle in months to come, but it doesn’t make it any easier. I’ve even become jealous of my housemate & work colleagues who are out running, gyming or BMF’ing.

From the physical side of things, the pain in my ankle is doing my head in – when I move about in my sleep I end up knocking it, which causes a sharp stabbing pain, which needless to say wakes me up – just what I need at 3am. However, during the day, and as much as I can, I’m trying to start some form of movement exercises with my ankle. My initial worries about losing strength across my body haven’t really materialised, as my right leg is being used to lift my entire body weight, while my upper body is being used much more regularly manoeuvring around on my crutches.

To be honest, the whole experience is pretty humbling. My hat goes off to all of our injured soldiers who have actual real injuries – seeing how they deal with real pain & real injury really puts my road to recovery into perspective.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

