The ugly side of training

While it happened slightly earlier than I would have liked, it was something that I knew was going to happen at some point – a training related injury. It was a standard Saturday night, and leading the rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle that I currently lead, I was heading out for a run. However, I got no more than 50 metres away from the house when disaster struck (and who said I like to over dramatise things). Thanks to the amazing street repairs that are yet to happen down our road, I slipped slightly on some uneven pavement. Now in my head it was a quick flick onto my ankle, and while I didn’t actually fall over, oh my god it hurt like hell. After hobbling back to the house I eventually saw the extent of my injury…..

As I got in the car with Becky & Vicky (housemates who kindly took me to A&E) all I wanted to do was cry. Not because of the pain, but because all I could think of was the half marathon I was running in February & the military 10km in March. Trying to find a funny side to it all, I did joke that I was quite glad to be going to the MRI with something other than a head injury, which used to be my usual trick.

 Saturday night in A&E was, as you can imagine, amusingly disturbing. I was thanking my lucky stars that we weren’t in there three hours later, otherwise the drunken crazies of Manchester would have bumped me so far down the list I wouldn’t have been seen until Sunday. Actually, I think the fact that I wasn’t battered off my face got me a certain level of attention not afforded to the usual Saturday night visitors to casualty.

Long story short, the bloody thing is sprained, but luckily not fractured or broken. They bandaged me up, gave me some pretty sexy crutches & sent me on my way – I’m quite glad I had a little practice on my mum’s last time I was home, although her hip replacement was probably more deserving than my injury.

The doctor tells me that I can’t run for at least 2 weeks, and unless miracles happen then I most probably won’t be doing the half marathon in Blackpool next month (piss, piss and more piss). Needless to say I’m not happy about that. But in the grand scheme of things, there’s not a great deal I can do about it, and it could be a hell of a lot worse. Over the next day or so I will be formulating a plan not only to maintain the fitness and strength of my lower body while I can’t get out & run, but also what I’m going to do to replace the half marathon.

And so the recovery begins.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The ugly side of training

  1. Mike Cowburn says:

    Hi Ben,

    You seem to be taking it philosophically – best wishes for a speedy recovery!

    • Cheers Mike. Trying to take the positive approach. Probably won’t see you at Speakeasy on Monday, I’m sure Andrew will forgive my absence.

  2. Christine Lambert says:

    What some people will do to get attention, only kidding Ben,
    take it easy, Lots of love, Mum xx

  3. Sheila Lumgair says:

    ouch! Hope your on the mend soon. Glad Edinburgh isn’t for another 10 weeks so you will hopefully still make it. Ran 23 miles last week and feel much better for it so thanks for getting me going. Sheila x

    • Ouch indeed. I should def. be ready for the edinburgh half, just dont think ill be that great at the blackpool half at the end of feb, might have to walk round. 23 miles? bloody hell, im going to have to up my game when I get back to training. You & fiona wil be miles ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

