Changing habits one day at a time

In a weird way I really enjoy long days – there’s a certain sense of achievement to long days (providing that you’re productive with them that is). For the last three days, I’ve been clocking a good 15 hours, which isn’t anything that special, but great in terms of what you can get done. So far this week I’ve been up at 6, finding that I’m wide awake and ready to hit the ground running. Being up at that time is great – the house is dead silent, so good time for breakfast, morning news and a couple of cheeky jobs at home before going into the office. It’s a bit full on at the minute as results are going out, but nothing we can’t handle. Then the evenings have been spent out and about working up a sweat. While I probably should have been having a rest day on Tuesday, I decided to head out for my first run of the 2011. I’m a tad disappointed I only managed 2.5 miles, although it was more a conscious decision to run a certain route around Chorlton, rather than an inability to run further (well that’s my version of events at least).

The run itself was good, especially with the great new playlist I’d compiled over Christmas – eat your heart out Scott Mills! But there was such a difference in determination & motivation running on my own, compared to the team effort felt at BMF. To this extent, I’m thinking of joining a running club – something I never thought I’d join. It is going to mean that potentially 4 of my evenings are taken up with exercise, but come on – my brother does 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. I’m sure I can manage 4 hours a week.

On another note, I’d forgotten how good constant activity can make you feel. I’d urge anyone reading this to try something new in 2011, and if like me, you’d fallen into the hibernation trap of winter nights, one night a week, get off your backside and get out and do something. Physical activity is great for the mind as well as the body. And it’s the best addiction around – the more you do, the more you want to do.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

