Not long now

It’s now less than 48 hours until I’ll be submerging myself in the chilling waves of the North Sea, which in itself is surprisingly not that daunting. The “oh my god” element to all of this is that, OMG this challenge thing is really starting. The dates for Cotopaxi have been released; I’m looking at flights to Dubai; and I’m starting to think about the 3 peaks organisation (days, dates, transport etc).

Before any of that planning can take place, I need to get myself to Whitley Bay, North East coast, get my kit off (so to speak) and run Baywatch style into the depths of the North Sea. Temperatures are looking reasonably good for this time of year, and needless to say I’m very grateful that the snow has melted. Having said that, 5 degree waters and a lower temp with wind chill, will make for an interesting start to 2011.

Whitley Bay (hopefully won’t be as snowy on Saturday)

I’m actually trying not to think about the temperature, or the fact I’m going to be stripping down to my shorts in front of random strangers on a beach in January. I’m holding on to the idea that this small feat of madness, will raise some much needed cash for some amazingly deserving people. I’m also holding onto the fact that this is the start of something really special.

Bring it on!

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

