First hurdle…..sort of

OK, so I must confess, I’ve not actually completed one of my challenges yet, but it sure as hell feels like I’m deep in the process. Planning the logistics of the Kilimanjaro climb seemed pretty full on at the time, but this is nothing, nada, nichts, zip compared to this bad boy of a challenge. I get the distinct feeling that I will need to rely much more on my outlook calendar or paperchase diary to coordinate my life over the next 21 months.

Event registration: Well what a mine field of mayhem this is turning out to be. Some allow me to register right up until the day of the event, others need me to sign up nearly a year in advance. Luckily the great people at Great Run have a reminder service, so that I get e-mailed when the event registration is open (in the hope I can be one of the crazy people to run round a city)…..which brings me to the point of entry fees. Oh my challenging god! I know things in Dubai cost more than the UK, but running 26 miles on the Isle of Wight is setting me back £12, while in Dubai it’s $100.  The world is a harsh and unfair place.

Spreading the good word: I’ve spent the last couple of days attempting to update as many social networks as I can get my hands on. Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter have all been hammered with status updates, blog posts and web links. Now begins the task of that old age pastime of talking to people – interacting directly with other human beings. It’s scary stuff, but it’s time to tell the world about my plan for [21:21]. The few people that know about it so far have really gotten onboard, so I’m feeling positive about the coming weeks.

Show me the money: As the first of January draws closer, then idea of raising ten thousand pounds (it seems scarier when you actually write the figures…..£10,000) is starting to play on my mind. I’m not scared by it, I embrace it. But still, £10k is a hell of a lot of money. So after I get my head round logistical registration planning, my biggest task is to start bringing in the pennies.

Help for Heroes [21:21] Challenge

About benjonlambert

Mountain climber, marathon runner, Olympic torchbearer & ACF instructor amongst other things: "Success never came to those who weren't ready for a challenge"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

